Certified Learning Facilitator

What is a Certified Learning Facilitator (CLF)?

The Certified Learning Facilitator (CLF) is the master Facilitator benchmark within the learning and development industry for learning and development facilitators. It’s what sets highly skilled facilitators and trainers apart in our profession.

Applicants undergo an assessment of capability against the L&D Capability Framework, career achievements, their practical experience and ongoing development.


CLF Explainer

CLF Explainer

  • Recognises facilitation capabilities, experiences and achievements;
  • Identifies individuals achieving great results through their learning initiatives, and
  • Provides quality assurance to existing and potential clients.

CLFs are acknowledged for their extensive experience and ongoing development. Achieving CLF status grants you an industry-wide recognised standard of excellence to stand out with clients and employers.

To be eligible for the CLF recognition, Facilitators typically have:

  • Extensive practical learning facilitation experience
  • Hold recognised educational qualifications and accreditations
  • Demonstrated achievements in the learning and development field
  • Exceptional learning facilitation and transfer support skills, and
  • A commitment to ongoing professional development

Application Process


Review the Certified Learning Facilitator Handbook to decide if you are ready to apply for this certification.


Complete the application form and include the required supporting evidence in regard to their experience.


Once the application is approved, applicants will be provided with additional information relating to the practical assessment.


The practical assessment component involves a questionnaire, validation interview and demonstration of facilitation skills.

Ongoing Recognition

  • To maintain CLF Status, individuals must submit a CLF Logbook each year outlining their development activities over the past 12-months.

  • The completion of the logbook demonstrates the individual’s commitment to continuous development and the modelling of best practice.