Certified Learning Designer

What is a Certified Learning Designer (CLD)?

The Certified Learning Designer (CLD) is the master recognition benchmark for quality learning instructional designers, creating effective learning solutions to meet identified learning needs and achieve the desired outcomes and results. It is what sets high-quality instructional designers apart in our profession.


CLD Certification

This Benchmark:

  • Recognises design and development capabilities, experience and achievements
  • Identifies well designed learning designs achieving great results
  • Provides quality assurance to existing and potential clients
  • CLDs are acknowledged for their quality and continual improvement.

Achieving this benchmark provides an industry-wide recognised standard of excellence to stand out with clients, employers and learners.

To be eligible for the CLD recognition, designers typically have:

  • Extensive practical instructional design experience (minimum of four years)
  • Recognised qualifications in learning and development or related fields (Certificate IV minimum level, Certified Learning Facilitator, Certified Learning Consultant)
  • Demonstrated results or achievements from their learning solutions
  • Commitment to ongoing professional development

Application Process


Review the Certified Learning Designer Handbook to decide if you are ready to apply for this certification.


Complete the application form and include the required supporting evidence in regard to their experience.


Once the application is approved, applicants will be provided with additional information relating to the practical assessment.


The practical assessment component involves a questionnaire, validation interview and demonstration of design skills.

Ongoing Recognition

Certified Learning Designer is valid for one year. To maintain CLD status, recipients will need to provide evidence of how they have reviewed two learning solutions they have designed and incorporated the feedback received.

Certified Learning Designers are encouraged to maintain their professionalism and attributable status by undertaking a minimum of 30 hours of professional development (e.g. professional development workshops, structured learning activities and informal activities such as research and readings), over a 12-month period.